The British Sitcom Guide


Programme: Blackadder
Broadcast: 1983 - 1989   ( BBC1 )
Episodes: 24 (4 series)
Starring: Rowan Atkinson, Tony Robinson, Tim McInnerny, Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie
Written by: Richard Curtis, Ben Elton, Rowan Atkinson
Produced by: John Lloyd
Directed by: Martin Shardlow, Mandie Fletcher, Richard Boden
Production: British Broadcasting Corporation More info

The four series of this sitcom focus on different eras in the Blackadder family dynasty. In the first series it's Edmund Blackadder we follow, a thoroughly mean, rude, cunning, scheming, slimey prince who has no morals. He is accompanied by a filthy servant called Baldrick and Percy, a dim-witted friend. The latter series see decedents of the same characters in the Elizabethan, Regency and the World War One eras of British History.

BSG Review:

Blackadder is one of finest examples of brilliant British sitcom. Razor sharp and extremely funny scripts have been combined with outstanding comic acting to produce a very superior sitcom. It is perhaps therefore not surprising it has been named the second best British sitcom ever. The unique way the same memorable and likeable characters are transported through time for each new series adds to the fun. This is without a doubt a must see comedy!

Use the menu bar on the left to access more information

© 2003 - 2006 British Sitcom Guide. No reproduction without permission.